Academic Catalog 2013-2014 
    Jul 12, 2020  
Academic Catalog 2013-2014 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

School of Music

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Undergraduate Curriculum

Shaw Music Professorship - Professor Ann B. Stutes, Dean

Professor Gary Belshaw, Sandra Mosteller

Associate Professors Kimberly Brown, Debra Flournoy-Buford, Richard Fountain, Timothy Kelley

Assistant Professors Hyung Chae, Brian Kuhnert, Scott Strovas, Joe Vandiver

Emeritus Professor Earl W. Miller

School of Music Mission Statement

The School of Music offers both liberal arts and professional degree programs for students who plan to enter some field of music as a career, who plan to pursue studies in music at the graduate level, or who plan to integrate music with other professions. The curriculum also provides all students at Wayland with opportunities to experience and understand music as a part of their academic preparation and their cultural identity.

Additional Information:

The Bachelor of Arts in Music degree offers emphasis in general music, theory and composition, or church music and worship. The Bachelor of Music degrees include specializations in music education; and instrumental, keyboard, or vocal performance.

The School of Music is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Music and is a participating member of the Texas Music Educator’s Association, the Texas Association of Music Schools, Texas Music Educators Conference, the Texas Music Teachers Association, and the National and Texas Federation of Music Clubs. The School sponsors student chapters of the National Association for Music Education, the Society of Composers, Inc., and the Wayland Fellowship of Church Musicians. The Academy of Fine Arts, Wayland’s community arts outreach program, affords music students the opportunity to serve as private instructors, teaching assistants, and program coordinators.


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Undergraduate Curriculum